Avs Advance in OT Thriller

Colorado Avalanche v. Edmonton Oilers
Game 4 – COL leads 3-0

Game Recap:

In Edmonton for Game 4 the Oilers look to keep their season alive as the Colorado Avalanche look to complete the sweep, and in the first period the Oilers would go to the box early on a Zack Kassian slashing call which would allow the Avs to take the 1-0 lead as Cale Makar would score on the powerplay. Later in the period the Avs would have to kill off a pair of penalties as the Oilers looked to climb back into this game, but the Avs would be up to the task to keep their one goal lead.

In the second period Zach Hyman would strike a little less than eight minutes into the period to tie the game at one. then Gabriel Landeskog would go to the box for holding to put the Oilers on their third straight powerplay of the game, but the Avs would continue to shut the Oilers powerplay down to keep the game tied. However, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins would score to give the Oilers the lead, and then Alex Newhook would shoot the puck over the glass for a delay of game penalty which would put the Oilers back onto the powerplay, and it would be Connor McDavid with the powerplay tally to give the 3-1 lead.

Then in the third period the Avs would bounce back as Devon Toews would shoot the puck off of Cody Ceci to have the puck go past Mike Smith to get the Avalanche back within one. However things would get crazy as Hyman would net his second of the game three minutes later to retake the two goal lead for the Oilers. However, it would be three straight goals from Gabriel Landeskog, Nathan MacKinnon, and Mikko Rantanen (powerplay goal) for the Avalanche to comeback and take the 5-4 lead, but the lead would not last long as Zack KAssian would strike to tie the game at five for the Oilers to force overtime.

In the extra frame it would be Arturri Lehkonen 79 seconds into overtime to give the Avalanche the 6-5 victory over the Oilers to complete the sweep and advance to the Stanley Cup Final.

The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT


Colorado Avalanche:

Gabriel Landeskog — Nathan MacKinnon — Valeri Nichushkin

Artturi Lehkonen — Mikko Rantanen — Andre Burakovsky

Alex Newhook — J.T. Compher — Nico Sturm

Andrew Cogliano — Darren Helm — Logan O’Connor

Devon Toews — Cale Makar

Jack Johnson — Josh Manson

Bowen Byram — Erik Johnson

Pavel Francouz

Justus Annunen

Scratched: Ryan Murray, Kurtis MacDermid

Injured: Samuel Girard (sternum), Darcy Kuemper (upper body), Nazem Kadri (upper body), Nicolas Aube-Kubel (lower body)

Edmonton Oilers:

Zach Hyman — Connor McDavid — Zack Kassian

Ryan Nugent-Hopkins — Leon Draisaitl — Josh Archibald

Warren Foegele — Ryan McLeod — Jesse Puljujarvi

Derek Ryan — Derick Brassard

Darnell Nurse — Cody Ceci

Duncan Keith — Evan Bouchard

Brett Kulak — Tyson Barrie

Kris Russell

Mike Smith

Mikko Koskinen

Scratched: Devin Shore, Olivier Rodrigue

Injured: Kailer Yamamoto (upper body)

Suspended: Evander Kane

The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

First Period:

EDM Penalty – 2:53 – Zack Kassian 2 minutes for Slashing

COL PPG – 3:46 – Cale Makar (5) from Artturi Lehkonen (4)

COL Penalty – 10:19 – Darren Helm 2 minutes for Holding

COL Penalty – 16:00 – Erik Johnson 2 minutes for Tripping

End of FirstCOL – 1EDM – 0
Faceoff Wins513
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

Second Period:

EDM Goal – 7:39 – Zach Hyman (10) from Leon Draisaitl (22) and Darnell Nurse (4)

COL Penalty – 8:06 – Gabriel Landeskog 2 minutes for Holding

EDM Goal – 16:57 – Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (6) from unassisted

COL Penalty – 18:02 – Alex Newhook 2 minutes for Delay of Game

EDM PPG – 18:54 – Connor McDavid (10) from Leon Draisaitl (23) and Tyson Barrie (4)

End of SecondCOL – 1EDM – 3
Faceoff Wins1422
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

Third Period:

COL Goal – :31 – Devon Toews (5) from Gabriel Landeskog () and Cale Makar ()

EDM Goal – 3:55 – Zach Hyman (11) from Leon Draisaitl (24) and Connor McDavid (22)

COL Goal – 8:58 – Gabriel Landeskog (8) from Bowen Byram (8) and Nathan MacKinnon (8)

COL Penalty – 11:02 – Nathan MacKinnon 2 minutes for Tripping

COL Goal – 13:30 – Nathan MacKinnon (11) from Arturri Lehkonen (5) and Cale Makar (15)

EDM Penalty – 14:06 – Derek Ryan 2 minutes for Holding

COL PPG – 14:47 – Mikko Rantanen (5) from Cale Makar (16) and Gabriel Landeskog (9)

EDM Goal – – Zack Kassian (2) from Leon Draisaitl (25) and Connor McDavid (23)

End of ThirdCOL – 5EDM – 5
Faceoff Wins2635
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT


COL Goal – 1:19 – Artturi Lehkonen (6) from Cale Makar (17) and Darren Helm (2)

End of OTCOL – 6EDM – 5
Faceoff Wins2638
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

TXHT may earn an Affiliate Commission if you purchase something through Cool Hockey ads/links in this article.

One thought on “Avs Advance in OT Thriller

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s