Flames v. Oilers – The Battle of Alberta Commences

Calgary Flames (0-0-0 0pts) v. Edmonton Oilers (1-0-0 2pts)

Game Recap:

For the first time since February 2020 the Battle of Alberta gets to take place in front of the fans once again as the Edmonton Oilers host the Calgary Flames. In the first period things would heat up rather quickly as the physicality between both teams would ramp up as the period would go on. However, where it matters is on the score board and Derek Ryan scoring his first as an Oiler, and Connor McDavid would strike on the powerplay for his first of the season while on the powerplay to give the Oilers the 2-0 lead. We would see a lot of skirmishes in the first period and a lot of them were based on plays around the goal, especially in the Calgary zone. Both teams are looking to establish dominance in this game, and while the Oilers have the lead on the scoreboard, the Flames are not laying down.

In the second period we would have some penalties early on, but as the game went on it would calm down a bit. While on their lone powerplay of the period McDavid would strike once again to grow the Oilers lead to three. However, Andrew Mangiapane would score the first goal of the season for the Flames to bring them back within two goals. Calgary would get two powerplay opportunities during the period, and despite not scoring on them, the Flames did a really good job of controlling the play and generating scoring chances. The Flames would double up the Oilers 18 to 9 in the shot department for the period.

Then in the third period the Flames would continue to battle as they would draw a penalty to get on the powerplay. This time with the man advantage the Flames would strike as Elias Lindholm would net his first of the season to bring the Flames back within one. however, seconds later Jesse Puljujarvi would score to retake the two goal lead for the Oilers. After a heavy push to get back on the board, the Flames would pull Jacob Markstrom for the extra attacker, but unfortunately for the Flames, McDavid would get the empty net goal to complete the hat trick and give the Oilers the 5-2 victory.

The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT


Calgary Flames:

Johnny Gaudreau — Elias Lindholm — Matthew Tkachuk

Dillon Dube — Sean Monahan — Andrew Mangiapane

Milan Lucic — Mikael Backlund — Trevor Lewis

Glenn Gawdin — Brett Ritchie

Noah Hanifin — Rasmus Andersson

Nikita Zadorov — Christopher Tanev

Juuso Valimaki — Erik Gudbranson

Oliver Kylington

Jacob Markstrom

Dan Vladar

Scratched: None

Injured: Tyler Pitlick (lower body), Brad Richardson (lower body)

COVID-19 protocol: Michael Stone

Suspended: Blake Coleman

Edmonton Oilers:

Leon Draisaitl — Connor McDavid — Jesse Puljujarvi

Kailer Yamamoto — Ryan Nugent-Hopkins — Zach Hyman

Warren Foegele — Derek Ryan — Zack Kassian

Brendan Perlini — Ryan McLeod — Kyle Turris

Darnell Nurse — Tyson Barrie

Duncan Keith — Cody Ceci

Slater Koekkoek — Evan Bouchard

Mike Smith

Mikko Koskinen

Scratched: Kris Russell, Colton Sceviour

Injured: Devin Shore (lower body)

First Period:

CAL Penalty – 2:57 – Glenn Gawdin 2 minutes for Hooking

EDM Goal – 13:08 – Derek Ryan (1) from Warren Foegele (1) and Zach Kassian (1)

CAL Penalty – 14:33 – Rasmus Andersson 2 minutes for Roughing

CAL Penalty – 14:33 – Rasmus Andersson 2 minutes for Elbowing

EDM Penalty – 15:21 – Jesse Puljujarvi 2 minutes for Roughing

EDM PPG – 17:29 – Connor McDavid (1) from Jesse Puljujarvi (1) and Leon Draisaitl (2)

CAL Penalty – 18:22 – Nikita Zadorov 2 minutes for Roughing

EDM Penalty – 18:22 – Zach Kassian 2 minutes for Roughing

EDM Penalty – 19:39 – Zach Hyman 2 minutes for Closing Hand on Puck

End of FirstCAL – 0EDM – 2
Faceoff Wins169
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

Second Period:

EDM Penalty – 2:24 – Connor McDavid 2 minutes for Holding

CAL Penalty – 4:12 – Milan Lucic 2 minutes for Tripping

EDM PPG – 5:33 – Connor McDavid (2) from Darnell Nurse (2) and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (1)

CAL Goal – 9:19 – Andrew Mangiapane (1) from Dillon Dube (1) and Juuso Valimaki (1)

EDM Penalty – 10:16 – Kailer Yamamoto 2 minutes for Tripping

End of SecondCAL – 1EDM – 3
Faceoff Wins2820
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

Third Period:

EDM Penalty – 4:12 – Kailer Yamamoto 2 minutes for Hooking

CAL PPG – 5:03 – Elais Lindholm (1) from Matthew Tkachuk (1) and Rasmus Andersson (1)

EDM Goal – 5:29 – Jesse Puljujarvi (2) from Cody Ceci (1) and Leon Draisaitl (3)

EDM ENG – 18:23 – Connor McDavid (3) from Jesse Puljujarvi (2) and Leon Draisaitl (4)

End of ThirdCAL – 2EDM – 5
Faceoff Wins3435
The Official Jersey Retailer of TXHT

One thought on “Flames v. Oilers – The Battle of Alberta Commences

Leave a Reply