The Stanley Cup Daily – Awards and Game 2

NHL News and Notes from Monday, September 21st, 2020


  • The final NHL Awards were handed out, and here were the following winners:
  • 2019-20 Calder Memorial Trophy – Cale Makar (COL)
    • Makar was selected as the top rookie during the 2019-20 season while anchoring the defense in Colorado.
    • Makar recorded 12 goals and 38 assists for 50 points in 57 games played.

  • 2019-20 Ted Lindsey Award – Leon Draisaitl (EDM)

  • 2019-20 Vezina Trophy – Connor Hellebuyck (WIN)
    • Hellebuyck, who was nominated for the second time in the past three seasons, led all goaltenders with six shut outs in 58 games played.
    • Hellebuyck started 56 games, and winning 31.

  • 2019-20 Norris Memorial Trophy – Roman Josi (NAS)
    • Josi set a Predators franchise record for defensemen with 16 goals and 49 assists for 65 points in 69 games played.

  • 2019-20 Hart Memorial Trophy – Leo Draisaitl (EDM)
    • Draisaitl becomes the first German born player to win the Hart Trophy and only the fourth Oiler to win the award.
    • Draisaitl would record 110 points in 71 games played.
    • Draisaitl would record a league leading 33 multi-point games.


  • The NHL also announced the 2019-20 First, Second, and Rookie All-Star Teams.
    • First All-Star Team
      • Connor Hellebuyck (G, WIN)
      • John Carlson (D, WAS)
      • Roman Josi (D, NAS)
      • Leon Draisaitl (C, EDM)
      • David Pastrnak (RW, BOS)
      • Artemi Panarin (LW, NYR)
    • Second All-Star Team
      • Tuukka Rask (G, BOS)
      • Victor Hedman (D, TB)
      • Alex Pietrangelo (D, STL)
      • Nathan MacKinnon (C, COL)
      • Nikita Kucherov (RW, TB)
      • Brad Marchand (LW, BOS)
    • Rookie All-Star Team
      • Elvis Merzlikins (G, CLB)
      • Quinn Hughes (D, VAN)
      • Cale Makar (D, COL)
      • Dominik Kubalik (F, CHI)
      • Victor Olofsson (F, BUF)
      • Nick Suzuki (F, MON)


Game Recaps

  • Dallas Stars v. Tampa Bay Lightning – 8p ET Start Time
    • Heading into Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final the Lightning look to even the series, but the Stars will look to keep Tampa grounded and take the 2-0 series lead. After a chippy start to the game it would be the Lightning striking first as Brayden Point would score while on the powerplay to give Tampa the 1-0 lead, however, the Lightning would strike again as Ondrej Palat would score on the powerplay to grow their lead to two. Then before the end of the first period Kevin Shattenkirk would score to give Tampa a commanding 3-0 lead. In the second period Joe Pavelski would get the Stars on the board while on the powerplay to cut Tampa’s lead to two. Then in the third period Mattias Janmark would score his first of the playoffs to bring the Stars within one, but the Lightning would hold on to take Game 2 3-2 and tie the series at one.


Leave a Reply